Travel Photography of Cats in Melaka

I went on a Melaka trip with a good buddy a couple of years back. It was my first time exploring in this artistically UNESCO historical city of Malaysia – the city has numbers of beautiful wall murals, good contrast of colors, the morning light was extremely beautiful. Of course being me who likes to explore around, adventuring around a city truly excites me.

Travel photography is perhaps one of the most difficult subjects to do in all photography. Travel photographer needs to have a very good eye to see the environment differently.  My goal in travel photography is always to do my best to capture the best view i can in general, within the given time frame i had. Not forgetting to savor many delicious local foods and visiting popular attractions.

There are so many beautiful and captivating pictures to share about Melaka city, and to share it all at one go might not be too digestible to you. I have decided to break it down into portions for your to enjoy what i had captured on camera.

If you are similar to me, that like cats. This is the perfect blog post to read on for travel photography tips.

Cat photography is one of the most fun subjects to photograph. There are so many different ways to take really amazing cat pictures. From what i have generally observed, most people would take pictures of cat from a top down angle, or squat down to make the picture. Some will use the zoom in function to do a close-up shot of the cat.

I am going to share some cat pictures in Melaka that i have captured. Further sharing with you about some cat photography tips – the method or thinking process when capturing these fluffy little cats.

I was roaming in the street and was surprised to come across these group of cats behind a gate. All of them were looking at one direction with their head in parallel with their body position. I simply got no clue what they were staring at, hope is not something scary that i can’t see. Anyway, the gate grill opening was suitable for most of my lenses to poke through. I quickly changed to a fixed focal length of 50mm lenses. I made a gentle squishy noise to get their attention, four of these cats turned their head around and i quickly made many frames from it. Their expression seems to have the same serious look, maybe annoyed because i had disturbed their focus on “something”. I love how that ginger cat hiding behind the gray cat with it head peeping up to glimpse at me. The background wasn’t too messy which is a bonus. The environmental colors were a bit flat because of the lighting condition, but this makes the group of cat stand out really great in this picture.

St. Paul’s Church is another sightseeing venue in Melaka, i was surprised to see many cats “station” up on the knoll. This picture is the church ruin interior. I saw this cat was sitting on the ground looking around, not be too concern about the flow of the crowd. Instead of doing close up, i did an interior picture with the cat relaxing in the foreground, to showcase the height of the place and how small the size of the cat was. Maybe i shall title it as “Cat relaxing in St. Paule’s Church”.

There were quite a few kittens been very playful. Judging from the size it must have been a few months old in this world. Been curious about their new environment and flexing their agile nature is these little creature’s innate. Is very rare for me to see kitten climbing up a tree in Singapore. But here, the cats were truly a Kampong cat – chasing and pawing each other. It was a wonderful sight to witness these little creatures in their most natural behavior. For the photography part, i will observe the habit of this cat before taking pictures. I need to understand their movement, then pre visualize what to do before i spring into action. In this case, the cat were moving quite fast. I need to have a faster shutter speed to get a sharp frame. I saw this kitten loves climbing up the old wooden pillar, it went up and jumped down, then went up again. Such a playful little one. So i position myself and hope for the kitten to make its next jump, and it did! I quickly capture many frames and different compositions. For this picture, i love the depth behind which showcase the stone slabs in the background. I like the overall  balance of  shadow and lighting. The raw bricks on the left frame were probably smeared with a layer of concrete, showing much age of this 15th-century church. The color were rather brownish which is very balance. I feel a large print of this picture would truly justify the quality of this cat in action.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Seeing the cats and kittens running around with such great mood. This cat went into the shallow drainage for a little adventure. I quickly went forward, get down really low to make some pictures. Surprisingly this curious cat suddenly popped its body out of the drain, standing on the hind legs looking at the camera. I would be disappointed if i miss such a rare moment. Look at this, the cat was making an eye contact with the camera for a moment. Its right paw was resting on the surface maybe to balance itself. Maybe i can title this “Portrait of a Melaka cat”

The last one was this fluffy small kitten flushing its body parallel with the ground. It seems scared. I used a telephoto lens, standing further away not to scare the little creature. I put my camera between the drain, switching on the live view function to get this shot. I was in a very awkward position to take a picture, luckily no one was around to see my silly position. I love this shallow depth of field. The focus is on the kitten’s face. Sadly the cat looks either too scare or was hungry, it has this death stare.

I hope you like the story and my very own cat photography tips of these amazing animal.

Check out my travel photography website gallery for more of Melaka stock/travel images.

If you like this post do support me with a “like”, share my post to people who love taking pictures of cats. Feel free to leave a comment below as well. I would love to interact with you. Or ya subscribe to my post too!

Leave a Reply

