Art Gallery Interior Photography – Yayoi Kusama: Life is the Heart of a Rainbow

Dear readers,

I was fascinated by the avant-garde art display by Yayoi KusamaYayoi Kusama. So i decided to do a personal series of interior pictures at the National Gallery Singapore. This is the first time i am capturing an avant-garde interior photography picture. Very rarely do our local gallery display and market such art work on a massive scale, and successfully reaching out to the public with the help of media.

Yayoi Kusama is one of the world’s most influential artists and has played a crucial role in key art movements of the 20th and 21st centuries. This is her first major work in Southeast Asia. I am proud to say our local gallery did a fantastic job by bringing in her visionary practice into Singapore.

Enough said, is time for some visual treat!

I was blown away by the huge set up in the hall interior.

My idea was to document each section of the huge display room without any people involved. I want to clearly focus on her art display, and i love a clean and sleeky presentation. However, this is a paid venue for the public to come visit and enjoy art work collection. The biggest hurdle to document this art gallery is to wait for the crowd or a single person to leave the installation room. Plus i don’t have any work relation with the National Gallery as well. I thought this will be a waiting game.

During my first visit, observing the huge number of people coming in. I knew it was not going to be easy. Many people were staying pretty long in the display to take pictures to post on their social media, the more serious ones were quietly enjoying the art work.

With all my love for the tulips

I honestly wish i can put up a tripod and take the pictures with the lowest ISO and the smallest aperture. Well, we know mission impossible. I have to set my ISO over thousands and use at least f/8 and a bearable shutter speed to get a good exposure.

The Spirits of Pumpkins Descended into the Heavens

This is my most sought after interior installation room to document. This room is always filled with people queuing to take pictures. I returned 3 times to get an empty room but it was really tough even after a long wait. And finally, on the fourth try, i got what i have visualized. Lots of patient in the making for this picture.

I truly loved my last picture captured in a low angle yet able to showcase the entire room. Lots of personal satisfaction in it.

Infiniti Mirror Room

Do take note all these individual installation rooms have a long line to it. Be prepared to queue, but it will be totally worth your visual experience.

Do check out my photography website for more, i will also be uploading more pictures in a few days time.


If you like today’s blog, please support me with a “like” and share my page on your social media channels. If you have a comment or suggestion, i would love your input too.

Leave a Reply

