How i started Architecture Photography

Dear readers,

This is a short story how i fall in love about architecture photography.

Many years ago, an architecture photographer shared with me about his thoughts of taking architecture pictures. He said, “You must feel for the building, talk with the building.” At that point, i thought he was mad. How do i even talk to a building that was built with concrete and steel? The interest for architecture was not in my biggest interest at that point in time. However, those words turned out to become a golden advice. I have to apologize inside my heart thinking he was mad.

How did architecture embark into my life? About 4 years ago, i was required to visit several places in Singapore for a German start-up company. This company sent me a long list of the brief of the Do’s and Don’t for their picture requirement. That was how i truly understand about capturing interior and exterior photography, i also further study it through books and online to increase my knowledge, go out to the field to practice, and finally the editing.

On a personal note. I left my good career as a soldier to pursue photography 11 years ago. Only recently, i start to understand what i want to achieve. Visualize my career goal is ultimately an established commercial photographer (architecture, interior, corporate, industrial), jetting all over the world to take pictures for many top companies, providing them with great pictures for their marketing materials, let the world see my pictures. Commercial photography jobs have developed into the​ main stream for me. I truly love visiting​ various type of companies to capture a ​different set of photo requirement or a visual telling story requirement for clients. I never hate the traveling part, is always a very refreshing experience. I loved the challenges that were thrown onto me. My company always aims​ to provide a picture solution for all my client.

I have recently reshuffled my photography website. I have categorized​ all my photos of architecture by the name. Rather than putting various architecture pictures all on​ a single page, which can look​ so shambles. It was a lot of hard work to do it, but i think it is really worth the pain to look more organized, and professionally presentable. I had a clearer picture what i can do to make the picture better.


___

I know i am not a great writer, I believe there is​ always room for improvement, i may not realize​​ what is still needed in order to be better. If you have any suggestion please feel free to leave a comment below. However, ​i wish to share this useful information​ as much i can through my own experience, and i hope you may absorb​ something from my writing. If you like today’s blog, please support me with a “like” and share my page on your social media channels. If you have a comment or suggestion, i would love your input too.

Leave a Reply

